Bed&Breakfast | Restaurant
Located in the heart of southeast Georgia, the Coleman House Inn is a one of a kind experience for those staying in the area. Experience Southern food at its best. Our southern buffet gets great reviews from locals and the out-of-towners.
The restaurant serves lunch on Sunday to Friday from 11:00am Until -2:00pm
Closed on Saturday.
For Bed & Breakfast accommodations please contact us. Coleman House Inn also offers catering for all occasions and events.
The Coleman House was only two weeks from being demolished when the restoration began. It took over 1000 gallons of paint stripper to restore the 12-foot ceilings and walls of tongue-and-groove heart pinewood. Fifteen bathrooms were installed and finished in the three floors with authentic period iron, claw footed bathtubs, basins and equipped with the modern day convenience of shower hoses and curtains. Victorian-patterned Bradbury wallpapers were hung throughout the five of the downstairs rooms. Out of the eleven fireplaces, eight were tiled that were never originally finished.
Surrounded by porches, this 10,000 square foot Painted Lady has 98 windows and 500 spindles. Each façade of the building is different, and on top of the house rests a widow’s walk.
At the age of 15, James Coleman joined his brother Elisha and other Emanuel County boys who enlisted in the Civil War with 2nd Georgia State Troops, Stapleton's Regiment, also called Company H or 2nd Georgia Militia. After the Civil War, James engaged in farming and rafting timber for several years. He then joined his brother John C. in a mercantile business. In 1888, he formed a partnership with James H. Ellison to start a sawmill business.
The eventually owned the Coleman & Ellison Railway which connected with the Midville-Ellison line at Midville. He also operated a gristmill, funeral home, and opera house. He formed the Citizens Bank of Swainsboro, GA in 1900 and was elected as the first president. James was also elected as County Commissioner for several years and represented his congressional district. The house was built between 1900 and 1904.